Jonathon Heyward and Simone Lamsma

Jonathon Heyward, conductor
Simone Lamsma, violin

Jessie Montgomery Records of a Vanishing City
Samuel Barber Violin Concerto
20-minute Intermission
Robert Schumann Symphony No. 3 ("Rhenish")

Approximate total run time: 1 hour and 40 minutes

Building on his thrilling Lincoln Center debut with the Orchestra last summer, the acclaimed Jonathon Heyward returns to conduct a lyrical and vibrant evening of romantic and contemporary works before he takes the stage as next season's Renée and Robert Belfer Music Director! The scene is set with Jessie Montgomery's 2016 Records from a Vanishing City, a tone poem evoking the musical diversity of Manhattan’s Lower East Side in the 1980s and ’90s. The superb violinist Simone Lamsma joins for Barber's elegaic Violin Concerto, and Schumann’s exuberant “Rhenish” Symphony No. 3 rounds out the evening.

The performances will be streamed live for FREE on the Hauser Digital Wall in the lobby of David Geffen Hall. Please join us!

If you have any questions about this event, please contact Guest Experience at 212-875-5456 or [email protected].